Le métro

20120717-103245.jpg

To those who’ve been to Paris, this map is familiar. I love the métro. Truly, I do. It’s easily accessible, good signage and fast. So it can be stinky and sweaty, nothing’s perfect! But all in all, I love it. You can’t get lost in Paris. Wait. I take that back. You can get lost in Paris. But not problematically lost. You can always get home If you know you know your station. When I get lost, I just find he nearest métro station, and they are everywhere, check out the map and go back. It’s fabulous. And if a directionally-dysfunctional person like me can get around easily, anyone can. Seriously, I can barely find my way out of a paper bag but the métro is damn near fool proof. The only tricky part is figuring out the exits – some stations like Châtelet have at least a dozen, stretching over many blocks. The underground labyrinth of these stations are incroyable.

Then yesterday happens. So,last summer they closed the St. Michel station for a month. This is very inconvenient for me. I’m out in the ‘burbs and take the RER train into the city centre every day. It’s fifteen minutes from our place to Notre Dame. Seriously, it’s fast. But, when they close that station, which is central and AWESOME ( connects to ligne 4, which connects to everything) I have to get off at Gare d’Austerlitz. Hate it, bloody connects to ligne 10 & 5. Which connect to nada, so I’m always taking three trains at least. Sigh.

I saw the signs. I read them but this is what happens when the written language isn’t your first language. You misread stuff. I thought they were closing Austerlitz for a month, cool, whatever, no skin off my nose. However, as I discovered yesterday, nope, it’s St. Michel. Again. For a month.

ARGH!

I know, I know. This is the biggest thing to mess up my day, it’s pretty minor and I’m damned lucky and fortunate. It’s true. But seriously, this is such a pain in the ass. Adds at least 15 minutes each way to every trip.

C’est Paris!

3 Comments

Filed under travel

3 responses to “Le métro

  1. as soon as I read Gare d’Austerlitz my face made that scrunchy “Ugh” face. I’ve been there and I share your pain.

    • Genie

      You are spoiled – you are in Paris! Enjoy and relax – that’s what summer is all about – not what is closed but what is open and what that might bring!!

  2. Love the info. When I was there we had a guide & he did all the train stuff, but now I feel I could master it. Maybe I should come for a week for subway lessons! Strange that they don’t sell those type of tours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

