Teeny museums today

Monet - Water Lilies

I went to the Orangerie as a preview for the Musee d’Orsay tomorrow.  Wow.  Amazing.  I’ve always been a big fan on Impressionism and this was awesome.  The two rooms with the vast Monets are totally worth it alone.  The lighting is perfect in there and they have signs to please be silent so that guests can enjoy Monet’s work as he meant it to be, a ‘decompression place’. 

A room at the Orangerie

“Nerves overwrought by work would relax there, just like the relaxing example of those stagnant waters and for whomever inhabited it, this room would offer asylum for peaceful meditation amidst a flowery aquarium…”

-Claude Monet 1909

Picasso

The rest of the place – it is small – has some Cezanne, Renoir,  Rousseau, Modigliani, Matisse, Picasso and Soutine.  I haven’t spent a lot of time with Soutine’s work but I really enjoyed it today – again, prompted another project idea for my students!  I’m really looking forward to the Orsay.

Soutine

I also went to the Galerie du Jeu de Paume.  It has a good photography exhibit, a really odd slideshow exhibit that was very small and the real reason I went – the William Kentridge: Five Themes – was locked up!  I asked why but couldn’t really understand the reason.  I will probably try again!

Spent a lot of time walking around today, mostly the Champs…I think I will devote a whole day just to wandering in and out of shops on the Champs but I’m going to wait until all the Bastille Day stuff is over!

Leave a comment

Filed under travel

Leave a Reply

