Finding the Jardins des Tuileries…eventually

Lanes at Jardin des Tuileries

So, it was a long morning. I didn’t sleep at all last night so I wasn’t firing on all cylinders despite two cups of expresso.  I needed to go to the metro station and get my Navigo Decouverte passe or passe de Navigo Decouverte.  Whatever.

Thanks very much to the blog livinginparis.org,  I was able to do this with a minimum of fuss.  I was a bit worried

 about the picture part though – you need a tiny picture for the card.  I had one of myself on my laptop but didn’t have the disk to connect Juliet’s printer.  So I put it on the jumpdrive and uploaded it to her ancient iMac.  Everything was in french but I eventually managed to get the photo ready to print (bravo moi!).  But it wouldn’t.  I tried everything.  Eventually I realized that her printer is also a scanner so I scanned my passport photo and voila! 

I went to the metro station that the blog recommended  and found the information booth.  It was easy and I didn’t have to fill out anything – unlike the Navigo pass for residents, the metro doesn’t guarantee anything for us non-residents if we lose it – we’re sure out of luck – so no paperwork.  Slapped it on the Visa and done!

Le Grand Palais

I decided to wander down the Champs Elysees.  It’s a bit of a mess as they’re putting up stands for Bastille Day, I assume.  So I wandered and found the Grand Palais.  And the Petit Palais. I didn’t go inside today but they are impressive. 

Le Petit Palais

 They were built for the World’s Fair in 1900.  They (along with the Eiffel Tower) were supposed to be temporary.  In Canada, if it’s temporary, we just build a tent.  Wow.

I then ambled along pleased that it was cooling off slightly since it clouded over.  It could rain everyday for all I care.  The heat and the sun are killing me.  Anyway, I decided to go to the Jardins des Tuileries.  I plan to go the the Louvre this week for my first visit (I think at least two day for the Louvre) and doubt I’ll feel like looking at the gardens afterwards.  Somehow, I thought I was going in the other direction on the map and got lost.  Over an hour lost.  Ended up past St. Germain lost.  Anyway, I eventually just retraced my steps (trying to find my way out got me more lost) and found my way back to the Champs.  However if I hadn’t gotten lost I would have missed this interesting view. 

Girl on car

A car was covered with red fabric and flowers and then the girl was wearing lingerie – red garter, knickers, bra and white stockings and the lovely wing thingy and she climbed up on top of the care and a photographer took photos.  An advertisement?  Weird fetish? Who knows.  But what made me laugh is the guy wearing – I’m not exaggerating – a white spandex suit with neon green shoes, David Bowie hair and a handbag, stopped in his tracks and took her photo too! 

Eiffel Tower from Pont Alexandre

On my way down to the Jardins – I saw my first official, in-person, view of the Eiffel Tower from Pont du Alexandre.  I liked it.  Saw the Seine too – and despite what I’ve heard – not stinky!  Venice is stinky – the Seine was not! On the other side, I saw the godawful ferris wheel at the Jardins.  Cripes it’s ugly.  The rest of the gardens are nice but…I expected more.

Laundry to dry on Seine

  Maybe too much – after all they aren’t the Jardins des Luxumbourg, are they?  Well, they are lovely but noisy with all the children at the fair stuff.  I didn’t really go down to the Place de la Concorde as they has stuff all over getting ready for Bastille day too.  

Bronze Brazen Woman

I did really like the statue of the woman on one of the lawns.  This is not a woman who’s afraid to shower in the communal shower in the locker room.  This is a woman who walks nude in front of her open window and doesn’t care.  Bravo!

I know that these are either chesnuts or limes (famously grown in the Jardins) but they looked so odd – don’t know which!  I really, really, really wanted to pluck them down and touch them but I restrained myself.  And there were too many people around.  Don’t they look awesome? (Update – pretty sure they’re chestnuts!) 

Lime or chesnut???

1 Comment

Filed under travel

One response to “Finding the Jardins des Tuileries…eventually

  1. I am loving reading your adventures so far! And keep the pictures coming! But could I suggest changing the font? It is really hard to read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

